New Year’s Eve 2020 celebrations and fireworks from around the world

Celebrations to mark the start of 2020 are being held around the world, starting with Kiribati (Line Islands) at 0900GMT, with New Zealand seeing in the new decade at 1100GMT. Key timings: 1100GMT: Auckland, New Zealand 1300GMT: Sydney, Australia 1500GMT: Pyongyang, North Korea and Seoul, South Korea 1600GMT: Hong Kong, China, and Taiwan 1830GMT: Bangalore, India 1900GMT: Islamabad, Pakistan 2000GMT: Dubai, United Arab Emirates 2100GMT: Moscow, Russia 2200GMT: Athens, Greece; Cape Town, South Africa; Beirut, Lebanon 2300GMT: Paris, France 2300GMT: Berlin, Germany 2345GMT: Edinburgh, UK 0000GMT: London, UK 0200GMT: Rio, Brazil 0500GMT: New York, USA 0600GMT: Mexico City, Mexico Get the latest headlines: and are websites of The Telegraph, the UK’s best-selling quality daily newspaper providing news and analysis on UK and world events, business, sport, lifestyle and culture.

About The Author


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>